Skip to main Skip to sidebar

Villa Albertine’s 2024 Selection Jury

Chaired by MoMA Director Glenn D. Lowry, the jury will select 50 residency projects across the US in 2024. 40+ local experts in 10 US cities took part in the preselection process. The full selection will be announced on May 24.

Villa Albertine revealed the selection juries for its innovative artist residency program. Representing a diverse spectrum of disciplines and backgrounds, a Franco-American jury will select a new cohort of artists, thinkers and culture professionals, to be announced Wednesday, May 24.

The jury, chaired by MoMA Director Glenn D. Lowry, includes BAM President Gina Duncan, Centre Pompidou President Laurent le Bon, and Film at Lincoln Center President Lesli Klainberg, among others.

Extending across disciplines and continents, Villa Albertine reinvents the traditional residency model. Rather than welcoming all residents to a single location, the cultural institution, which was launched in 2021, custom-designs each creator’s residency depending on their project needs. Residents inhabit the US city or region of their choice, with bespoke accommodations, partners, and materials. Residencies are also exploratory; with an emphasis on meaningful engagement with the American environment and the conception of new ideas, rather than the production of a completed work.

The final selection jury for Villa Albertine’s 2024 residencies is composed by the following members:

Glenn D. Lowry (Chair), David Rockefeller Director of the Museum of Modern Art, New York

Adrien Bosc, Publisher, Writer, and 2022 Villa Albertine Resident

Gaëtan Bruel, Director of Villa Albertine

Gina Duncan, President of BAM

Laurent Le Bon, President of the Center Pompidou

Eva Nguyen Binh, President of the French Institute

Lesli Klainberg, President of Film at Lincoln Center

Jury chair Glenn D. Lowry noted, “In little under two years Villa Albertine has created a residency program for the 21st century. Decentralized and bespoke, it operates at a scale that is both remarkable and unique, nurturing connections between hundreds of residents and as many American professionals, on a countrywide scale. It is a compelling model that enables a broad range of residencies and projects across the United States that bring a refreshing approach to contemporary issues.”

The call for applications for Villa Albertine’s 2024 residency program was open to creators, researchers, and culture professionals of all nationalities from November 22, 2022 to February 1, 2023.  Local expert committees in each of Villa Albertine’s 10 hubs convened last month to determine the shortlist among the applicants. The final selection jury has the difficult task to choose 50 residencies from among that shortlist. View a complete list of the 40+ cultural experts who participated on a local level, including Adam Weinberg, Director of the Whitney Museum, Sarah Wolozin, Director of the MIT Open Documentary Lab, Greg Lambousy, Director of the New Orleans Jazz Museum, and Fahamu Pecou,  Artist and Director of the African Diaspora Art Museum of Atlanta, below.

We’re beyond pleased to welcome so many of our closest collaborators to lead the residency selection process. As a young institution bringing new perspectives to the American cultural landscape, we benefit immeasurably from their expertise and deep community roots,” added Gaëtan Bruel, Director of Villa Albertine.

Villa Albertine is currently hosting its second season of residents, all across the US from Hawaii to Vermont, and from all creative disciplines. Residents include Goncourt Prize-winning author Leïla Slimani (The Perfect Nanny), designer and glassblower Eve George, Cannes Palme d’Or-winning filmmaker Julia Ducournau (Titane), textile artist Chloé Bensahel, and architect Feda Wardak.

Beyond residencies, Villa Albertine continues to explore new pathways for international dialogue and exchange in arts and culture. The Villa offers numerous grants, prizes, and exchange programs for international arts professionals of all disciplines, publishes an in-house magazine and podcast, and organizes year-round public events across the country. A tentpole initiative in 2023 is the Albertine Dance Season, a year-long celebration of the art of dance providing a deep reflection on the artform’s evolution in a post-pandemic world.

Complete list of local jury members:


Edvige Jean-François, Executive Director, Center for Studies on Africa and Its Diaspora, Georgia State University

Fahamu Pecou, Artist and Director, African Diaspora Art Museum of Atlanta (ADAMA)

Veronica Kessenich, Executive Director, Atlanta Contemporary


David Howse, Vice President of Office of the Arts and Executive Director, Emerson College

Pieranna Cavalchini, Curator of Contemporary Art, Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

Sarah Wolozin, Director, MIT Open Documentary Lab

Tod Machover, MIT Media Lab – Director, Opera of the Future Group


Carla Acevedo-Yates, Marilyn and Larry Fields Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago

Dana Hall, Interim Dean, The School of Music, De Paul University

Donald Laserre, Edgar D. and Deborah R. Jannotta President and CEO, Chicago History Museum

Gloria Groom, Chair of Painting and Sculpture of Europe, The Art Institute of Chicago

Mimi Plauche, Director, Chicago International Film Festival


Daisy Nam, Executive Director & Curator, Ballroom Marfa

Frauke V. Josenhans, PhD, Curator, Moody Center for the Arts, Rice University

George Shackelford, Deputy Director, Kimbell Art Museum

Holly Herrick, Head of Film & Creative Media, Austin Film Society


Jacqueline Lyanga, Founder, Global Cinematheque and US Delegate, Berlinale US Programming and Industry

Jennifer King, PhD, Associate Curator, Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)

João Ribas, Executive Director, REDCAT

Julia Ward, Humanities Director, LA Phi


Beth Boone, Director, Miami Light Project

Edouard Duval Carrie, Artist

Mitchell Kaplan, CEO, Books & Books

Severina Yotova, Music manager


Gia Hamilton, Executive Director, New Orleans African-American Museum

Greg Lambousy, Executive Director, New Orleans Jazz Museum

Ron Bechet, Visual Artist, Victor H. Labat Professor of Art at Xavier University of Louisiana; Advisor, Prospect New Orleans; Chair, The Joan Mitchell Foundation; Board of Directors; Member of the Board of Trustees, The Ogden Museum of Art

Susan Taylor, The Montine McDaniel Freeman Director, New Orleans Museum of Art


Adam Weinberg, Alice Pratt Brown Director, Whitney Museum of American Art

Alex Knowlton, Director of Joe’s Pub – The Public Theater

Janet Wong, Associate Artistic Director, New York Live Arts

Jed Rapvogel, Film Programmer, Anthology Film Archives

Lisa Lucas, SVP and Publisher, Pantheon and Schocken Books


Natasha Becker, Curator of African Art, Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco

Peter Maravelis, Events Director, City Lights Booksellers & Publishers

Victoria Sung, Future Artistic Director, BAMPFA


Alicia Adams, Vice President International Programming, John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

Matthew Affron, Muriel and Philip Berman Curator of Modern Art, Philadelphia Museum of Art

Sunny Sumter, President and CEO, D.C. Jazz Festival

Tony Gittens, Founder and Director, D.C. International Film Festival

Related content

Sign up to receive exclusive news and updates