The Payne Whitney Mansion

Fallen Tree, YMER&MALTA / Benjamin Graindorge (2011) © Beowulf Sheehan

Fallen Tree, YMER&MALTA / Benjamin Graindorge (2011) © Beowulf Sheehan

The Payne Whitney Mansion

Sise sur la Cinquième Avenue, au 972, dans l’Upper East Side de Manhattan, la Payne Whitney Mansion est le siège de la Villa Albertine. Ce remarquable bâtiment historique, intégrant du design contemporain, est le maillon central d’un réseau de création et d’innovation qui s’étend sur l’ensemble des États-Unis. La Payne Whitney Mansion abrite aussi la librairie Albertine, une salle de lecture et un centre pour la promotion des échanges littéraires franco-américains.

Conçue par Stanford White, la Payne Whitney Mansion, allie élégance et patrimoine historique et culturel. Empreint du New York du début du XXe siècle, de l’esthétisme de la Renaissance européenne, et du raffinement culturel français, cet hôtel particulier, l’un des derniers vestiges de l’âge d’or américain de l’architecture offre un véritable voyage dans le temps, tout en proposant ce qui se fait de mieux en matière de raffinement contemporain. Sa localisation dans un quartier exceptionnel, en face de Central Park et sur le Museum Mile, l’avenue des musées, le rend éminemment attractif et facilement accessible.

 

Le bâtiment

The marble rotunda, featuring the Young Archer statue attributed to Michelangelo, at the Payne Whitney Mansion

Beowulf Sheehan

La rotonde de marbre

Après avoir franchi les élégantes portes en fer forgé de la Payne Whitney Mansion, on pénètre dans la rotonde, un hall cerclé de colonnes de marbre qui entourent une fontaine et soutiennent un dôme orné d’un treillis et de vignes. Sur la fontaine se dresse une statue de marbre représentant un jeune homme, dont on pense aujourd’hui qu’il s’agit d’une œuvre de jeunesse de Michel-Ange. Acquis par Stanford White lorsqu’il s’approvisionnait en marbre d’Italie pour la construction du bâtiment, ce Jeune Archer, qui orne la rotonde depuis des décennies, a été identifié par Kathleen Weil-Garris Brandt, professeure au New York Institute of Fine Arts, assistée de James David Draper, conservateur du département des sculptures européennes et des arts décoratifs du Metropolitan Museum of Art.

The Venetian Room at the Payne Whitney Mansion

Beowulf Sheehan

Le salon vénitien

En quittant la rotonde, on découvre la salle de réception, l’une des créations les plus originales de Stanford White. Avec ses murs lambrissés ornés de miroirs, sa corniche en treillis de métal où s’entrecroisent d’exquises fleurs de porcelaine et son mobilier européen du XVIIIe siècle, cette pièce digne d’un conte de fée est un véritable trésor du patrimoine. Surnommée « salon vénitien » dans les années 1930 par Helen Hay Whitney, la pièce a été conçue par l’architecte, très attentif à la décoration intérieure, afin de saisir l’effet produit par une galerie de miroirs dans des cadres dorés de style rococo. Elle a été construite par le bureau new-yorkais de l’entreprise française Allard et Fils, et meublée avec des pièces achetées en Europe par Stanford White et les Whitney au cours de l’été 1905.

Aujourd’hui, l’intérieur, restauré grâce au soutien des amis de l’Ambassade et de la French American Foundation, a retrouvé une partie de sa décoration d’origine, dont des porcelaines de Meissen et des portraits et meubles du XVIIIe siècle.

The ballroom at the Payne Whitney Mansion

Le salon des marbres et la salle de bal

Un escalier majestueux mène directement de la rotonde au salon des marbres, une salle de réception aux proportions classiques, flanquée de part et d’autre de portes dorées ornées de miroirs. La salle de bal présente une série d’immenses fenêtres aux montants dorés qui donnent sur la Cinquième Avenue et Central Park. Ces deux pièces adjacentes à la librairie Albertine, au premier étage, sont les deux principales salles de réception de l’ambassade. Entièrement rénovées en 2021, elles communiquent avec la librairie selon une magnifique configuration en enfilade, conçue par Stanford White, et dont les Whitney se servaient pour recevoir leurs invités.

Depuis plus d’un demi-siècle, ces pièces, où sont organisées les cérémonies de remise de la Légion d’honneur, ont marqué les grandes étapes de la diplomatie franco-américaine. Elles ont accueilli des ambassadeurs, des dirigeants politiques, comme François Mitterrand ou Ban Ki-Moon, des prix Nobel, comme Albert Fert et Joseph Stiglitz, des artistes de renommée mondiale, comme Ellsworth Kelly et Richard Serra, ou encore des acteurs et des cinéastes, comme Meryl Streep, Jim Jarmusch et Wes Anderson. Témoins historiques des échanges franco-américains, elles ont été rendues à leur splendeur d’origine suite à une récente restauration des maîtres artisans de l’Atelier de Ricou, grâce au soutien de Vera Wang et de William et Clémence von Mueffling.

The artist's studio in the Payne Whitney Mansion, circa 1902-1919

McKim, Mead & White, courtesy of the Museum of the City of New York

Le studio du quatrième étage

Le studio du quatrième étage, qui servait à l’origine de bureau à Helen Hay Whitney, lui procurait un espace paisible pour écrire, jouer du piano et recevoir des amis. Mme Whitney était une autrice de livres pour enfants et poétesse réputée, dont de nombreux poèmes furent publiés par Harper’s Magazine et The Metropolitan Magazine. Devenue veuve, elle consacra une part non négligeable de la fortune familiale à diverses causes et institutions qui lui tenaient à cœur, comme le gymnase (rebaptisé Payne Whitney) de Yale. En 1943, elle forma, avec sa fille, Joan, la Fondation Helen Hay Whitney, qui soutient la recherche biomédicale postdoctorale.

Véritable oasis surplombant Central Park et l’avenue des musées, le studio comporte de remarquables détails architecturaux, dont une cheminée en brique, un sol en tommettes provençales et une voûte en bois peint orné de rosettes. Cet espace offre un décor à la fois impressionnant et chaleureux, idéal pour les dîners, les réunions et les petites réceptions.

The ceiling of Albertine Books, a periwinkle blue with a gold and black circular astrological map.

John Bartelstone

La librairie Albertine

Albertine Books est la seule librairie new-yorkaise exclusivement consacrée aux ouvrages en français et anglais, avec plus de 14 000 références contemporaines et classiques, originaires d’une trentaine de pays. Les visiteurs sont invités à découvrir le meilleur de la littérature et de la pensée française et francophone dans cet espace intimiste, dont le plafond, peint dans le style des fresques de la Renaissance, représente la voûte céleste.

Cette réalisation des services culturels de l’ambassade de France reflète l’engagement de notre pays en faveur des échanges intellectuels franco-américains, et la philosophie du gouvernement français, pour qui la littérature et les sciences humaines peuvent améliorer la compréhension et développer l’amitié des peuples par-delà les frontières. Pour la France, les livres représentent une richesse commune qui permet d’envisager un monde meilleur. Albertine organise des débats et des discussions animés sur la culture populaire et classique, dans un cadre moderne et international.

The Florence Gould Garden outside the Payne Whitney Mansion, featuring wooden walkways and several large trees facing the south side of the building.

Beowulf Sheehan

Le jardin Florence Gould

Pour un moment de sérénité, le jardin contemporain de la Payne Whitney House, dont les éclairages sont signés Hervé Descottes, compte parmi les rares jardins privés de l’avenue des musées, et offre aux invités un espace idéal pour les réunions en extérieur. C’est un endroit délicieux à la belle saison. Son aménagement, zen et élégant, permet une grande souplesse d’organisation.

Accueil événementiel

Chacune des pièces, rendues à leur splendeur d’origine grâce à une récente restauration des maîtres artisans de l’Atelier de Ricou, reflète l’harmonieuse vision de Stanford White. Cette demeure, la dernière dont il ait supervisé les plans, est l’ultime création d’une ère empreinte d’élégance et de savoir-faire qui a vu naître d’autres sites historiques new-yorkais, comme l’arc de triomphe de Washington Square Park ou la gare ferroviaire de Pennsylvania Station, conçue par le cabinet McKim, Mead and White.

Nous vous invitons donc à découvrir le siège du patrimoine culturel française aux États-Unis, avec sa vue panoramique sur Central Park, ses portes en fer forgé et ses ornements de marbre. Dans un cadre d’exception, la Payne Whitney Mansion accueille les événements privés, fêtes, réunions, dîners intimes, et même les tournages de films.

 

Pour plus d’informations, contactez :

Claire Abell

The Payne Whitney Mansion

Fallen Tree, YMER&MALTA / Benjamin Graindorge (2011) © Beowulf Sheehan

© Fallen Tree, YMER&MALTA / Benjamin Graindorge (2011) © Beowulf Sheehan

Villa Albertine is headquartered in New York City in the landmarked Payne Whitney Mansion, located on the Upper East Side of Manhattan.

As headquarters of Villa Albertine, the Payne Whitney Mansion is the beating heart of a network of creative thought and innovation across the United States, integrating a storied cultural history with cutting-edge design. Within the Payne Whitney Mansion, one also finds Albertine bookshop, a reading room and center for transatlantic literary exchange, devoted to books in French and English.

As one of the few remaining buildings from the Gilded Age architectural period, the Stanford White-designed Payne Whitney Mansion at 972 Fifth Avenue offers an unparalleled blend of history, location, design, and elegance. Steeped in the history of turn-of-the-century New York, Renaissance Europe, and France, the mansion transports visitors to another epoch and offers the height of sophistication in the 21st century. Its iconic location, across from Central Park and on Museum Mile, is highly desirable and easily accessible.

 

The Building

The marble rotunda, featuring the Young Archer statue attributed to Michelangelo, at the Payne Whitney Mansion

© Beowulf Sheehan

The Marble Rotunda

Just over the threshold of the Payne Whitney Mansion’s elegant wrought iron doors, one enters the rotunda, a hall framed by marble columns surrounding a fountain and supporting a dome ceiling decorated with lattice and vines. On the fountain rests a marble statue of a youth, now thought to be an early work by Michelangelo. Acquired by Stanford White while sourcing Italian marble for the Mansion, the Young Archer was first identified by New York University Institute of Fine Arts Professor Kathleen Wil-Garris Brandt, supported by James David Draper, Curator in the Department of European Sculpture and Decorative Arts at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, after decades of gracing the rotunda.

The Venetian Room at the Payne Whitney Mansion

© Beowulf Sheehan

The Venetian Room

Off the rotunda is one of the architect’s most original creations, a receiving room later to become known as the “Venetian Room.” This fairy tale room is a true museum piece with ornate mirrored panel walls and a cornice of metal lattice entwined with exquisite porcelain flowers and 18th-century European furnishings. Referred to as the “Venetian Room” in the 1930s by Helen Hay Whitney, the room was designed by Stanford White, known for his attention to interiors, to capture the effect of a hall of mirrors, in gilded rococo frames. Constructed by the New York office of the French firm Allard et fils, the room was furnished with pieces purchased by Stanford White and the Whitney family in Europe in the summer of 1905.

Today the interior, restored with the support of friends of the Embassy and the French American Foundation, features original furnishings including Meissen porcelain and 18th century portraits and furnishings.

The ballroom at the Payne Whitney Mansion

The Marble Room and Ballroom

A wide, gracious stairway leads from the rotunda directly to the Marble Room, a reception space of classic proportions, with gilded, mirrored doors on opposite walls of this salon. The Ballroom features a series of gilded oversized windows that overlook Fifth Avenue and Central Park. The Marble Room and Ballroom, two historical spaces located immediately adjacent to the Albertine bookshop on the mansion’s second floor, are the Embassy’s primary reception rooms and underwent a full renovation in 2021. They connect beautifully with Albertine, recreating an en enfilade configuration originally designed by Stanford White and used by the Whitney family when welcoming their own visitors.

For more than fifty years, these rooms have welcomed illustrious guests, housed Legion of Honor ceremonies, welcomed ambassadors, and marked critical moments in French-American diplomacy. Distinguished leaders such as François Mitterrand and Ban Ki-Moon, noble laureates including Albert Fert and Joseph Stiglitz, world renowned artists such as Ellsworth Kelly and Richard Serra, and filmmakers and stars including Meryl Streep, Jim Jarmusch, and Wes Anderson have all graced these rooms. These historic centers for transatlantic exchange have been restored to their original detail, thanks to a recent renovation by the master craftsmen of Atelier de Ricou, with the generous support of Vera Wang and William and Clémence von Mueffling.

The artist's studio in the Payne Whitney Mansion, circa 1902-1919

© McKim, Mead & White, courtesy of the Museum of the City of New York

The Fifth Floor Studio

Originally a study for Mrs. Whitney, the Fifth Floor Studio provided a tranquil space for her to write, play the piano and entertain friends. Helen Hay Whitney was a prominent author of children’s books and poet, and many of her poems were featured in Harper’s Magazine and The Metropolitan Magazine. Following the death of her husband, Mrs. Whitney donated a substantial amount of the Whitney fortune to various causes and institutions, such as the Payne Whitney Gymnasium at Yale. Before her own passing, Helen and her daughter Joan created the Helen Hay Whitney Foundation in 1943, an organization that supports early postdoctoral research training in all biomedical sciences.

An oasis overlooking Central Park and Museum Mile, the Fifth Floor Studio features inviting original details including a brick fireplace, tommettes de Provence flooring and a wooden vaulted ceiling painted with ornate rosettes. The space offers an impressive yet intimate setting for dinners, meetings, and small receptions.

The ceiling of Albertine Books, a periwinkle blue with a gold and black circular astrological map.

© John Bartelstone

Albertine Books

Tucked inside the Payne Whitney mansion, Albertine is the only bookshop in New York devoted solely to books in French and English with more than 14,000 contemporary and classic titles from 30 French-speaking countries. Featuring a celestial painted ceiling in the style of a Renaissance fresco, visitors are invited to discover the best of French and francophone literature and ideas in this intimate space.

A project of the Cultural Services of the French Embassy, the Albertine bookshop brings to life the French government’s commitment to French-American intellectual exchange. The space reflects its belief in the power of literature and the humanities to increase understanding and friendship across borders, and in the power of books as a common good for a better world. Albertine hosts lively debates and discussions exploring popular and classical culture through a modern and global lens.

The Florence Gould Garden outside the Payne Whitney Mansion, featuring wooden walkways and several large trees facing the south side of the building.

© Beowulf Sheehan

The Florence Gould Garden

A peaceful respite, the Payne Whitney Mansion’s adjoining contemporary garden is among the few private gardens along Fifth Avenue’s Museum Mile and offers guests an outdoor space for receptions and other gatherings. It is a delightful venue for any warm weather event. An elegant zen-like design gives the space tremendous malleability, and it features lighting design by Hervé Descottes.

Event Hosting:

Restored to their original detail thanks to a recent renovation by the master craftsmen of Atelier de Ricou, each room of the Payne Whitney Mansion reflects the harmonious vision of renowned architect Stanford White. The last building designed during his lifetime, the home represents the final creation of an era of elegance and craftsmanship that gave rise to other New York landmarks such as the Washington Square Arch and the original McKim, Mead and White Pennsylvania Station.

Featuring panoramic views across Central Park, wrought iron doors, and marble detailing, we invite you to discover the headquarters of Villa Albertine and home of French Culture in the US. The Payne Whitney Mansion offers select availabilities for private events and provides an unparalleled setting for celebrations and gatherings, from intimate dinners to iconic film shoots.

For further information, please contact:

Claire Abell