Résidences Villa Albertine à Brooklyn pour un artisan d’art et un designer, en partenariat avec WantedDesign et la Fondation Bettencourt Schueller

Art & Design
industry city

industrycity.com

La Villa Albertine invite deux créateurs professionnels de la scène française des métiers d’art et du design à découvrir la scène de la création new yorkaise afin de nourrir une réflexion renouvelée sur leur pratique.

Date limite de candidature : prolongée jusqu’au 10 avril 2022, 23h59 (heure française)

Soutenues par la Fondation Bettencourt Schueller, ces deux nouvelles résidences d’exploration auront lieu en 2023 à Brooklyn, accueillies et accompagnées par WantedDesign, organisation dédiée à la promotion du design à New York et à l’échelle internationale dans le cadre de Industry City + WantedDesign International Residency. 

 

- Date limite de candidature prolongée jusqu’au 10 avril2022, 23h59 (heure française)

- Durée de la résidence : 2 mois, entre mai et juillet ou entre octobre et décembre 2023 

- Deux résidences : Une résidence pour un.e artisan d’art, une résidence pour un.e designer 

- Lieu de résidence : Industry City, 220 36th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232 

 

Profils et projets recherchés 

Ces résidences d’exploration ne se conçoivent pas comme un travail en chambre mais comme une enquête de terrain qui inspire et crée des liens. L'intention peut s’appuyer sur une proposition nouvelle, spécifiquement pensée pour la Villa Albertine, ou sur une recherche préexistante qui y trouverait un développement singulier. Dans les deux cas, c’est le rapport du projet au territoire qui en fait l’intérêt. Si la résidence doit faire l’objet d’une restitution, sous une forme à préciser, son déroulement n’est pas centré sur une forme spécifique, notamment matérielle, comme ce serait le cas avec une résidence de production.  

La Villa Albertine s’adresse à des créateurs qui portent un projet de recherche original nécessitant un séjour d’immersion aux Etats-Unis, qui peut être complété par une démarche de prospection en vue de nouveaux débouchés commerciaux.  

La résidence permet à l’artisan d’art et au designer sélectionnés d’accéder à des organisations et professionnels clés du secteur à New York et aux Etats-Unis. Le projet proposé par les candidats doit leur permettre d’ouvrir un dialogue actif avec ces acteurs locaux.  

 

Territoire de résidence 

Ce programme de résidence est ancré à Industry City : ce complexe d’anciens bâtiments industriels a été reconvertis en centaines d’ateliers de production et boutiques de créateurs, fabricants et designers. En plein Brooklyn, Industry City est devenu un quartier créatif très dynamique, tourné vers l’économie d’innovation, notamment par le soutien de domaines de l’ingénierie, de la conception, de la fabrication et de la production.  

 

Accompagnement de la Villa 

La Villa Albertine apporte un accompagnement sur mesure, adapté aux attentes et au profil de chaque résident. 

Cet accompagnement est porté par une structure de référence, WantedDesign, qui permet au résident d’être pleinement inséré dans un écosystème accélérateur de rencontres et de découvertes. Un programme de rendez-vous, de visites et d’évènements sera établi pour chaque résident, selon son projet et ses besoins.  

La Villa Albertine accompagnera également le résident dans l’analyse des besoins matériels et logistiques nécessaires à la bonne réalisation de son projet, et organisera sa venue et son séjour, en mettant à sa disposition sa connaissance de la scène artistique et culturelle locale et son réseau de partenaires. 

 

 

Prise en charge matérielle de la résidence 

La Villa Albertine couvre les frais de déplacement et de séjour afférents à la résidence, selon les modalités suivantes :   

- Une allocation de résidence, permettant de couvrir les frais du quotidien (repas, transports locaux...) de 100 $ par jour ; 

- Un espace de travail personnel au cœur d’Industry City, au contact direct de l’équipe de WantedDesign.  

- le voyage international aller-retour ; 

- le logement ; 

- l’assurance santé, responsabilité civile et rapatriement. 

 

La Villa Albertine ne pourra pas s’engager à couvrir d’autres dépenses que les frais de déplacement et de séjour mentionnés ci-avant.  

Le cadre d’accueil de la Villa Albertine invite à considérer des résidences sans accompagnant (famille ou autre proche qui ne serait pas partie prenante du projet). Dans le cas où cet accompagnement serait nécessaire (notamment parent avec enfant(s) à charge), une telle situation serait prise en compte dans l’organisation de la résidence (logement adapté et aide à la recherche d’autres solutions de prise en charge). 

 

Critères d’éligibilité 

- La qualité du parcours du candidat : Le candidat exerce sa pratique artistique ou intellectuelle à titre professionnel, il est reconnu par ses pairs, son projet pour la Villa s’inscrit dans une suite logique par rapport à ses objets de recherche ;    

- La qualité du projet : Le projet est clair et les axes artistiques, culturels, intellectuels qu’il développe sont pertinents et en lien avec l’écosystème qui entoure la résidence ; 

- Profil recherché : Suffisamment avancé dans sa pratique d’artisan d’art ou de designer pour souhaiter approfondir sa pratique et chercher de nouveaux débouchés pour sa production. Le candidat a un intéret tout particulier pour les Etats-Unis, d’une manière générale, et New York spécifiquement, point de départ du projet spécifique à sa résidence. 

Le candidat devra être âgé de plus de 21 ans avant la date de départ envisagée en résidence. 

Un candidat ne peut déposer qu'une seule candidature par saison. 

Toute candidature incomplète ou non conforme sera déclarée irrecevable. Toute déclaration mensongère entraînera de plein droit la nullité de la candidature. 

 

Modalités de candidature 

Les candidatures en format dématérialisé sont à envoyer à l’adresse  design.crafts@villa-albertine.org, avant le 10 avril 2022, avec les pièces suivantes : 

- Dossier de présentation en français de leur parcours et de leur travail de moins de 10 pages en format PDF (max 10 Mo) ;  

- Présentation courte (2 pages maximum) de l’intention de recherche et de prospection en format PDF. Merci de préciser si vous candidatez en tant qu’Artisan d’art ou en tant que Designer. ; 

- Démonstration d’une pratique courante de l’anglais, à travers l’envoi d’une courte vidéo (vidéo déjà réalisée et disponible en ligne, ou enregistrée pour l’occasion ; dans ce cas, le candidat pourra, en 3 minutes maximum, se présenter simplement et dire quelques mots de son projet). Vous pouvez déposer une vidéo sur une plateforme (telle que YouTube ou Vimeo) en mode « privé » pour qu’elle soit accessible seulement aux personnes qui disposent du lien de visionnage. Vous pouvez également partager un lien vers un fichier stocké en ligne (sur Google Drive ou Dropbox par exemple). Si votre vidéo est protégée par un mot de passe, merci de nous le communiquer. 

 

Partenariat 

Lorsque le lauréat sera sélectionné, la Villa Albertine engagera un dialogue avec lui pour identifier le partenaire français qui serait le plus pertinent pour accompagner son projet de résidence. Il ne sera pas demandé aux partenaires de contribuer financièrement à la résidence. Selon les cas, ce soutien pourra être de trois ordres :  

- Conception du projet de résidence : aide à la rédaction du projet de résidence, identification de ressources et contacts qui pourraient aider le candidat, etc. ;  

- Promotion de la résidence : communication sur les réseaux sociaux, réalisation de contenus autour de la résidence (articles, podcasts, vidéos, etc.) ;  

- Réalisation d'un volet post-résidence : temps de restitution en France du travail mené aux Etats-Unis (conférence, rencontre avec des professionnels, etc.), aide au développement du projet artistique ou intellectuel.  

 

Facultatif : Dès sa candidature, le candidat peut donc suggérer le nom d’un partenaire français qu’il associerait à son projet de résidence, soit toute structure publique ou privée française, basée en France (institution culturelle, musée, éditeur, agence d'architecture d’intérieur, entreprise, etc.) et qui serait prête à l’accompagner selon ces modalités.  

 

Calendrier 

10 avril 2022, 23h59 (heure française) : clôture de l’appel à candidature 

Avril- Mai 2022 :  

- Présélection des candidatures par un jury constitué de représentants de la Villa Albertine, de WantedDesign et de la Fondation Bettencourt Schueller, chargé de présélectionner les dossiers envoyés. Entretien(s) avec candidats présélectionnés  

- Sélection finale opérée par le même jury  

Juin 2022 : Annonce des résultats. 

 

Ce programme de résidence Villa Albertine à Brooklyn (New York) est soutenu par la Fondation Bettencourt Schueller  

 

Fondation Bettencourt Schueller  

« Donnons des ailes aux talents » 

À la fois fondation familiale et reconnue d’utilité publique depuis sa création, en 1987, la Fondation Bettencourt Schueller entend « donner des ailes aux talents » pour contribuer à la réussite et à l’influence de la France.

Pour cela, elle recherche, choisit, soutient, accompagne et valorise des femmes et des hommes qui imaginent aujourd’hui le monde de demain, dans trois domaines qui participent concrètement au bien commun : les sciences de la vie, les arts et la solidarité.

Dans un esprit philanthropique, la fondation agit par des prix, des dons, un accompagnement personnalisé, une communication valorisante et des initiatives co-construites.

Depuis sa création, la fondation a récompensé 620 lauréats et soutenu plus de 1000 projets portés par de talentueuses personnalités, équipes, associations, organisations.

Plus d’informations sur www.fondationbs.org | Twitter : @Fondation_BS | Instagram : @fondationbettencourtschueller | Facebook : @BettencourtSchuellerFoundation | #TalentFondationBettencourt. 

https://www.fondationbs.org/ 

 

WantedDesign 

Créée en 2011, WantedDesign est une plateforme dédiée à la promotion du design et à l'encouragement de la communauté créative aux Etats-Unis et à l’internationale, à travers l’organisation d’évènements, de discussions et de partenariats. Elle organise chaque année le salon WantedDesign Manhattan, au cœur de la New York Design Week aux côtés de la foire ICFF.  

WantedDesign est accueilli depuis 2014 par Industry City. Ils se sont associés pour lancer un nouveau programme de résidences de design au cœur de ce qui est devenu le hub de design le plus créatif, dynamique et diversifié de New York.  

Avec les conseils de l'équipe de WantedDesign et la création d'un espace de travail sur le campus d'Industry City, le programme de résidences internationales Industry City + WantedDesign offre aux résidents internationaux une chance de s'immerger dans cette communauté créative pour construire leur réseau, s'inspirer de la ville de New York, et nourrir et préparer de nouveaux projets. 

https://www.wanteddesignnyc.com/ 

 

Villa Albertine  

La Villa Albertine est une institution culturelle en réseau, entre la France et les États-Unis, au service des arts et des idées. Présente sur l’ensemble des États-Unis, animée par une équipe de 80 personnes réparties dans dix grandes villes (Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Nouvelle-Orléans, San Francisco, Washington DC), la Villa Albertine propose un programme annuel de 60 résidences sur mesure, d’une durée d’un à trois mois, destiné à des créateurs (toutes disciplines), des penseurs mais aussi des professionnels du monde culturel. La Villa Albertine développe également une quinzaine de programmes professionnels et partagera un grand nombre de ressources (cartographies, rapports, analyses). La Villa Albertine crée aussi un magazine pour découvrir des figures inspirantes, explorer des territoires méconnus, documenter des tendances émergentes et partager des créations originales. Festivals, évènements ponctuels et cycles réguliers complèteront ce dispositif global et modulable d’accompagnement des acteurs culturels français. La Villa Albertine est un établissement du ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères, qui reçoit le soutien du ministère de la Culture.  

https://villa-albertine.org/fr 

 

 

En partenariat avec

Logo Fondation Bettencourt Schueller
Fondation Bettencourt Schueller

La Fondation Bettencourt Schueller s’applique à incarner la volonté d’une famille, animée par l’esprit d’entreprendre et la conscience de son rôle social, de révéler les talents et de les aider à aller plus loin, dans trois domaines qui contribuent concrètement au bien commun : les sciences de la vie, les arts et la solidarité. La Fondation et la Villa Albertine ont pris ensemble un engagement ambitieux, sur une durée de cinq ans, pour promouvoir les métiers d’art et le design français aux Etats-Unis, et favoriser la circulation des résidents entre les villas de la France à l’étranger. La Fondation est mécène fondateur de ce programme de résidences qui trouve pleinement sa place dans l’engagement philanthropique qu’elle porte, depuis 20 ans, en faveur des métiers d’art.

 

En savoir plus

Wanted design Logo
WantedDesign

WantedDesign est une plate-forme dédiée à la promotion du design et à l'enrichissement de la communauté créative internationale. Fondée à New York en 2011 par Odile Hainaut et Claire Pijoulat, WantedDesign soutient et promeut le design américain et international grâce à des événements, des conversations et des partenariats internationaux.

Industry City + WantedDesign International Residency

 

En savoir plus

Villa Albertine residencies in Brooklyn for a craftsperson and a designer, in partnership with WantedDesign and the Bettencourt Schueller Foundation

Art & Design
industry city

industrycity.com

The Villa Albertine invites two professional creators from the French art and design scene to discover the New York creative scene in order to nourish a renewed reflection on their practice.

Deadline: April 10, 2022, 11:59 pm (French time)  

Supported by the Bettencourt Schueller Foundation, these two new exploration residencies will take place in 2023 in Brooklyn, hosted and accompanied by WantedDesign, an organization dedicated to promoting design in New York and internationally as part of Industry City + WantedDesign International Residency.  

- Call for application is extended until April 10, 2022, 11:59 pm (French time)  

- Duration of the residency: 2 months, between May and July or between October and December 2023  

- Two residencies: One residency for an artisan, one residency for a designer  

- Location: Industry City, 220 36th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232  

 

Profiles and projects sought  

These exploratory residencies are not conceived as a "work room" but as a field investigation that inspires and creates connections. The intention can be based on a new proposal, specifically conceived for the Villa Albertine, or on pre-existing research that would find a singular development there. In both cases, the relationship of the project to the territory makes it worthwhile. If the residency must be the object of a restitution, under a form to be specified, its progress is not centered on a specific form, including material, as would be the case with a production residency.   

The Villa Albertine is intended for creators who have an original research project requiring an immersion stay in the United States, which can be completed by a prospecting process in view of new commercial outlets.   

The residency provides the selected artisan and designer with access to key organizations and professionals in the industry in New York and the United States. The project proposed by the candidates must allow them to open an active dialogue with these local actors.   

 

Residency Territory  

This residency program is anchored in Industry City, a complex of former industrial buildings that have been converted into hundreds of production studios and boutiques for creators, manufacturers and designers. In the heart of Brooklyn, Industry City has become a vibrant creative district, focused on the innovation economy, supporting the fields of engineering, design, manufacturing and production.

   

Support from the Villa  

The Villa Albertine provides customized support, adapted to the expectations and profile of each resident.  

This support is provided by a reference structure, WantedDesign, which allows the resident to be fully integrated into an ecosystem that accelerates meetings and discoveries. A program of meetings, visits and events will be drawn up for each resident, according to their project and needs.   

The Villa Albertine will also accompany the resident in the analysis of the material and logistical needs necessary for the good realization of his project, and will organize his arrival and his stay, by placing at his disposal its knowledge of the local artistic and cultural scene and its network of partners.  

 

Material support for the residency  

The Villa Albertine covers the travel and accommodation expenses related to the residency, according to the following modalities:    

- A residency allowance of $100 per day to cover daily expenses (meals, local transportation, etc.);  

- A personal work space in the heart of Industry City, in direct contact with the WantedDesign team.   

- international travel to and from the site;  

- Accommodation;  

- health insurance, civil liability and repatriation.  

The Villa Albertine will not be able to commit to covering any expenses other than the travel and accommodation costs mentioned above.   

The framework of the Villa Albertine invites to consider residences without an accompanying person (family or other close relative who would not be part of the project). In the case where this accompaniment would be necessary (in particular parent with dependent child(ren)), such a situation would be taken into account in the organization of the residence (adapted housing and help in the search for other solutions of care).  

 

Eligibility criteria  

- The quality of the applicant's background: The candidate exercises his or her artistic or intellectual practice in a professional capacity, he or she is recognized by his or her peers, and his or her project for the Villa is a logical continuation of his or her research objects;     

- The quality of the project : The project is clear and the artistic, cultural and intellectual axes that it develops are relevant and in line with the ecosystem that surrounds the residence;  

- Profile sought: Sufficiently advanced in his/her practice as an artisan or designer to wish to deepen his/her practice and seek new outlets for his/her production. The candidate has a particular interest in the United States in general, and New York specifically, as the starting point for the specific project of the residency.  

The applicant must be over 21 years of age before the planned departure date of the residency.  

A candidate may submit only one application per season.  

Any incomplete or non-compliant application will be declared inadmissible. Any false declaration will automatically lead to the nullity of the application.  

 

Application procedures  

Applications in electronic format must be sent to design.crafts@villa-albertine.org, before April 10, 2022, with the following documents  

- A presentation in French of the applicant's background and work of less than 10 pages in PDF format (max 10 Mo);   

- Short presentation (2 pages maximum) of the research and prospecting intention in PDF format. Please specify whether you are applying as an Artisan d'art or as a Designer;  

- Demonstration of fluency in English, through the sending of a short video (video already made and available online, or recorded for the occasion; in this case, the candidate will be able, in 3 minutes maximum, to simply introduce himself and say a few words about his project). You can upload a video on a platform (such as YouTube or Vimeo) in "private" mode so that it is only accessible to people who have the link to view it. You can also share a link to a file stored online (on Google Drive or Dropbox for example). If your video is password protected, please let us know.  

 

Partnership  

When the laureate is selected, the Villa Albertine will engage in a dialogue with him/her to identify the French partner who would be the most relevant to accompany his/her residency project. Partners will not be asked to contribute financially to the residency. Depending on the case, this support could be of three kinds:   

- Design of the residency project: help in writing the residency project, identification of resources and contacts that could help the candidate, etc. ;   

- Promotion of the residency: communication on social networks, production of content about the residency (articles, podcasts, videos, etc.);   

- Creation of a post-residency component: time for the restitution in France of the work carried out in the United States (conference, meeting with professionals, etc.), assistance in the development of the artistic or intellectual project.   

Optional: When applying, the applicant may suggest the name of a French partner that he/she would associate with his/her residency project, i.e. any French public or private structure based in France (cultural institution, museum, publisher, interior design agency, company, etc.) that would be willing to accompany him/her according to these terms.   

 

Calendar  

April 10, 2022, 11:59 pm (French time): closing of the call for applications  

April - May 2022:   

- Pre-selection of applications by a jury made up of representatives of the Villa Albertine, WantedDesign and the Bettencourt Schueller Foundation, in charge of pre-selecting the files sent. Interview(s) with pre-selected candidates   

- Final selection made by the same jury   

June 2022 : Announcement of the results.  

This Villa Albertine residency program in Brooklyn (New York) is supported by the Bettencourt Schueller Foundation.

Bettencourt Schueller Foundation   

"Giving wings to talent"


Family foundation and recognized of public interest since its creation in 1987, the Bettencourt Schueller Foundation intends to "give wings to talent" to contribute to the success and influence of France. 

To do this, it seeks out, selects, supports, and promotes women and men who are imagining tomorrow's world today, in three fields that contribute concretely to the common good: life sciences, the arts, and solidarity. 


In a philanthropic spirit, the foundation acts through prizes, donations, personalized support, communication and co-constructed initiatives. 


Since its creation, the foundation has rewarded 620 winners and supported more than 1000 projects led by talented individuals, teams, associations and organizations. 


More information on www.fondationbs.org | Twitter : @Fondation_BS | Instagram: @fondationbettencourtschueller | Facebook: @BettencourtSchuellerFoundation | #TalentFondationBettencourt.

https://www.fondationbs.org/  

 

WantedDesign  

Founded in 2011, WantedDesign is a platform dedicated to promoting design and encouraging the creative community in the United States and internationally through events, discussions and partnerships. It organizes the WantedDesign Manhattan show every year, in the heart of New York Design Week alongside the ICFF fair.   

WantedDesign has been hosted since 2014 by Industry City. They have partnered to launch a new design residency program in the heart of what has become New York's most creative, dynamic and diverse design hub.   

With guidance from the WantedDesign team and the creation of a workspace on Industry City's campus, the Industry City + WantedDesign international residency program offers international residents a chance to immerse themselves in this creative community to build their network, get inspired by New York City, and nurture and prepare new projects.  

https://www.wanteddesignnyc.com/  

 

Villa Albertine   

The Villa Albertine is a networked cultural institution between France and the United States, serving the arts and ideas. With a presence throughout the United States and a team of 80 people in ten major cities (Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, New Orleans, San Francisco, Washington DC), Villa Albertine offers an annual program of 60 residencies, lasting from one to three months, for creators (all disciplines), thinkers, and cultural professionals. The Villa Albertine is also developing about 15 professional programs and will share a large number of resources (cartographies, reports, analyses). The Villa Albertine is also creating a magazine to discover inspiring figures, explore little-known territories, document emerging trends and share original creations. Festivals, one-off events and regular cycles will complete this global and flexible support system for French cultural actors. The Villa Albertine is an establishment of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs, which receives the support of the Ministry of Culture. 

In partnership with

Logo Fondation Bettencourt Schueller
Bettencourt Schueller Foundation

As a family foundation and a public-interest foundation at the same time, the Fondation Bettencourt Schueller has chosen to “take talents to the top” to contribute to France’s success and influence. To this end, the Foundation seeks, selects, supports and promotes women and men who are rethinking our future in three fields that make a tangible difference to the common good: life sciences, the arts and an inclusive society. The Bettencourt-Schueller Foundation and Villa Albertine have committed to a bold five-year plan to promote French artists and designers in the United States, while helping new residents travel to French villas all over the world. The Foundation is a founding patron of this residency program, which aligns with the philanthropic mission it has promoted for the past 20 years in support of artistic professions.

Learn more

Wanted design Logo
Industry City + WantedDesign International Residency

WantedDesign is a platform dedicated to promoting design and fostering the international creative community at large. Founded in New York City in 2011 by Odile Hainaut and Claire Pijoulat, WantedDesign has established itself as a constant and staunch supporter of both American and international design through events, conversations, and international partnerships.  

Industry City + WantedDesign International Residency

 

Learn more