Skip to main Skip to sidebar

Discover the Winners of the 49th Cesars Awards

Anatomy of a Fall Won Six Awards for Best Film, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, Best Editing, Best Actress, and Best Supporting Actor at the 49th Cesars Ceremony © Academie des Cesars

By Villa Albertine

From Anatomy of a Fall to The Animal Kingdom, discover the winners of the 49th Cesars ceremony, which took place in Paris, at the Olympia, on February 23.

Justine Triet’s Anatomy of a Fall continues its victorious journey to the Oscars, winning six awards at the Cesars ceremony. The director became the second woman to win Best Director, after Tonie Marshall in 2000. The film also won the Cesar for Best Film, Best Actress (Sandra Hüller), Best Supporting Actor (Swann Arlaud), Best Original Screenplay, and Best Editing.

Another big winner of the evening was The Animal Kingdom, directed by Thomas Cailley, with five technical awards: Best Costume Design, Best Sound, Best Visual Effects, Best Original Score, and Best Cinematography. As part of the Unifrance Rendez-vous with French Cinema Festival, the film will be screened in the presence of the director on January 29 at Lincoln Center.

2022 Villa Albertine resident Kaouther Ben Hania won the Cesar for Best Documentary Film for her documentary Four Daughters, after winning several Cannes and other international awards (Chicago International Film Festival, BRIFF, and the Munich International Film Festival). The film will also be shortlisted in the Best Documentary Feature Film category at the 2024 Oscars.

See the full list of Cesar Award winners below:

Best Film
Winner : Anatomy of a Fall, Justine Triet
Junkyard Dog, Jean-Baptiste Durand
All Your Faces, Jeanne Herry
The Goldman Case, Cédric Kahn
The Animal Kingdom, Thomas Cailley

Best Director
Winner : Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall
Catherine Breillat, Last Summer
Jeanne Herry, All Your Faces
Cédric Kahn, The Goldman Case
Thomas Cailley, The Animal Kingdom

Best Actress
Winner : Sandra Hüller, Anatomy of a Fall
Léa Drucker, Last Summer
Virginie Efira, Just The Two Of Us
Hafsia Herzi, The Rapture
Marion Cotillard, Little Blue Girl

Best Actor
Winner : Arieh Worthalter, The Goldman Case
Benjamin Lavernhe, L’Abbé Pierre – A Century of Devotion
Melvil Poupaud, Just The Two Of Us
Raphaël Quenard, Yannik
Romain Duris, The Animal Kingdom

Best Supporting Actress
Winner: Adèle Exarchopoulos, All Your Faces
Galatea Bellugi, Junkyard Dog
Élodie Bouchez, All Your Faces
Leila Bekhti, All Your Faces
Miou Miou, All Your Faces

Best Supporting Actor
Winner : Swann Arlaud, Anatomy Of A Fall
Anthony Bajon, Junkyard Dog
Arthur Harari, The Goldman Case
Pio Marmaï, Yannick
Antoine Reinartz, Anatomy of a Fall

Best New Actress
Winner : Ella Rumpf, Marguerite’s Theorem
Kim Higelin, Consent
Suzanne Jouannet, The Royal Way
Rebecca Marder, Grand Expectations
Celeste Brunnquell, No Love Lost

Best New Actor
Winner : Raphaël Quenard, Junkyard Dog
Paul Kircher, The Animal Kingdom
Samuel Kircher,  Last Summer
Milo Machado Graner,  Anatomy of a Fall
Julien Frison, Marguerite’s Theorem

Best Original Screenplay
Winner : Justine Triet, Arthur Harari, Anatomy of a Fall

Jean-Baptiste Durand, Junkyard Dog
Jeanne Herry, All Your Faces
Nathalie Hertzberg, Cédric Khan, The Goldman Case
Thomas Cailley, Pauline Munier, The Animal Kingdom

Best Adapted Screenplay
Winner : Valérie Donzelli, Audrey Diwan, Just The Two Of Us
Vanessa Filho, Consent
Catherine Breillat, Last Summer

Sign up to receive exclusive news and updates